Low Cost Lawyer for Portage County Divorce Support
Affordable Portage County Divorce Lawyers
Divorce PRO works to provide high-quality limited scope legal representation services to couples in Portage County at prices they can afford. If you and your future ex have agreed to cooperate throughout the divorce process, the low-cost divorce attorneys of Divorce PRO can help with the details and get you closer to starting anew. Fill out our confidential Intake Questionnaire to see if we are right for you.
How to File for Divorce in Portage County
Even though it is a big step, starting the divorce process is easier than you might think. Wisconsin is a no-fault state, which means couples are allowed to file for divorce without first proving either person is to blame. To start the divorce process, all you or your ex-to-be has to do is visit the Portage County Courthouse and file. You do not have to have any type of legal representation to file for divorce.
File for Divorce in 7 Steps
- Visit the Portage County Courthouse*
- Decide to file jointly or separately
- Request a temporary hearing if you and your spouse do not agree on all issues
- File the action with the court
- Get a date and time for a hearing
- Attend your hearing (be polite)
- Walk away
*If filing without legal counsel, Portage County requires you to visit the Family Law Information Center and obtain a Certificate of Readiness before proceeding to any hearing. This will cost $200 if filing jointly, otherwise the petitioner must pay $100 and the respondent must pay $100.
Portage County Family Court
The Portage County Family Court Commissioner is Janet B. Roberts. The Clerk of Court's office can be found on the second floor of the Portage County Courthouse.
Where to File for Divorce in Portage County:
Stevens Point, Wisconsin 54481
Portage County Filing Fees:
The divorce filing fee will vary depending on the action you pursue. Remember, when filing without counsel in Portage County, the Certificate of Readiness must be obtained for an additional charge.
|Portage County Divorce Filing Fees|
File for divorce with NO request for support or maintenance:
File for divorce WITH request for support or maintenance: